Autumn in a Nutshell

The past few months have simply flown by, as if I blinked my eyes and poof, autumn is nearly over.  Soon I’ll be pulling on my fuzzy boots and cinching my down jacket tightly to my body as I brave the freezing morning air.  I recently came across a quote that said “notice that autumn is more the season of the soul than of nature.”  This speaks such truths to my heart.  Autumn is a time of great reflection, a time where we are faced with the last days of warmth before the snows decent upon us for months.  We prepare for the winter, relish in the heat of the sun, and let ourselves become immersed in the beauty that is nature.

MrsVTGT Blog autumnfashion 2 (2)

Perhaps this season which for so many of our childhood years meant the start of something new simply stays with us as we age into adulthood.  The feeling that we can reinvent ourselves, once again, with the start of a new school year.  Or perhaps, we are simply taking a break from all the adventures of summer and finally have a minute to reflect on the joys of the days past.

MrsVTGT Blog autumnfashion 4 (1)

As I sit here typing I feel that I have missed some of this lovely season.  I am buried in a seemingly never-ending pile of work, clawing desperately at sinking sides, feeling as if I am making no progress at all.  I try and try and try, but to no avail.  Yes, melodramatic of me, but true.

MrsVTGT Blog autumnfashion 3 (1)

I need the winter.  I crave the snow that wraps my soul in a soft blanket that shields me from the world.  I need the escape and the relief of winter to come.  For this chapter of my life to come to a close.  To have survived this.  If I get to the snow it will be over and I can breath once again.  But I am not there.  Autumn in all her beauty and glory is around me.  It is here, on this very front porch, beckoning for me to soak her in and relish in the joy.  To stop and remember that right here, right now, is perfect and wonderful and tomorrow is uncertain, but today, yes, today, is my life.

Leave a comment