Advice: From My Mom

My mother has always told me that marriage {and relationships} are work.  Now, she does not mean this negatively, simply that it takes more than just being together to make the partnership successful.  It takes time, dedication, mutual respect, and love.

You have to actively work on the marriage, treating it like a job {an awesome job!, but still, a job}.  Think about it, would you be able to just jump into a new job, let’s say, a surgeon, without putting some work into it first?  I think not!  A marriage is like this.  You start with two individual people and you combine lives.  As the years pass each person grows separately and you must nurture the marriage unit to accommodate for these individual changes and make the unit grow right along with it.

I have taken this advice to heart and applied it to my relationships thus far.   I know that I will continue to be an active member of my marriage and work to grow as an individual and as an equal partner in this awesome new journey!

Leave a Reply

